SANTARCHY: The Mike Hard Show / HafLife / Hillbilly Knife Fight

Sat, Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:00 pm to 2:00am

Saturday, December 17 / 8pm doors, 9pm music / $Free
The Mike Hard Show (Rock/Punk/Metal)
HafLife (Industrial/Rock/Bootycore)
Hillbilly Knife Fight (Rock/Punk/Metal)

The Mike Hard Show: Solo project of God Bullies, Hand Over Head, Thrall & Brain Saw frontman/guru MIKE HARD, formed in Fall 2010. God Bullies were an American noise-rock band from Kalamazoo, Michigan. They were active from 1986–1995, briefly reunited in the early 2000s and most recently in the summer of 2010 to coincide with the Amphetamine Reptile Records’ 25th Anniversary concert.

The band has released material with Alternative Tentacles and Sympathy The Record Industry, but the bulk of their releases were with Amphetamine Reptile Records.

Although God Bullies never found any mainstream success, creepy anthems like “Let’s Go To Hell”, “Ordinary Man” and “Cemetery”, paired with frontman Mike Hard’s theatrical delivery and over-the-top stage antics, earned the band a large cult following. God Bullies toured extensively throughout the US and Europe with artists including Hole, The Melvins, Helmet, Tar, Surgery, Cows and Helios Creed.

After God Bullies disbanded in 1995, Mike Hard went on to form Thrall. The majority of Thrall’s releases were with Alternative Tentacles. Thrall eventually ran its course, and Hard reunited with God Bullies guitarist David Livingstone and drummer Adam Berg to form Th3y N3v3r Sl33p. This project also featured original Thrall bassist “Queen Bee” Karen Neal. Th3y N3v3r Sl33p went on hiatus in early 2011.

Mike Hard is performing live throughout the mid-west and Texas under the band name “MIKE HARD” with former godbullie and Th3y N3v3r Sl33p drummer adam Berg, former BONK & Ghepetto Files guitarist Andy “Bongo” Furda, and former Sons of the Gun bassist Pat O’Harris. Mike Hard has plans to release solo material in 2013.

HafLife should never have existed! Stranger than fiction; two Detroit university students, obtain funding to develop a aural therapy to cure night terrors. The results were disastrous, and the two were immediately dismissed. The only positive effect was the unrelenting propensity for test subjects to gyrate prior to awakening. The two rogue researchers, left the country and went abroad to continue their experiments. Collaborating with last known members of the famed “Numbers Project”, this sonic think tank formed the “Atomic Gyration Institute”, solely dedicated to the subatomic quantum physics of gluteal gyration. MD 20/20, Handi J, V, and Tsar Bomba (names permanently changed… Interpol issues), continue to perform their sonic experiments, under the name HafLife. Labeled everything from “Bootycore” to “The Biker band of the Information Super Highway”, HafLife continues to defy the Motor City garage rock genre. They continually perform unlicensed aural experiments on unsuspecting crowds, searching for that perfect mathematical gyration deep within the gluteal fold. Since its inception, seismic activity has increased worldwide. Pi, Phi and Pythagoras be damned… long live HafLife & THE ATOMIC GYRATION INSTITUTE… Counting Down, One life at a time.

Hillbilly Knife Fight is 6 individuals from various musical genres and styles sick of being pigeonholed and categorized uniting to create a sound uniquely their own in the spirit of Detroit.

In late 2014 Hillbilly Knife Fight unleashed their sound on the Detroit music scene and true to form have now played a variety of shows with a genre smashing variety of talented artists and musicians such as Break Anchor, The Howling Diablos, The Lippies, Carmel Liburdi, Downtown Brown and St Thomas Boys Academy to name just a few. From punk to funk, from rock to acoustic, from metal to ska, HBKF have broken the boundaries of the local music scene.

A testament to the original yet familiar sounds of Hillbilly Knife Fight and the open minded diverse music lovers of this great city we call home.